News 23.09.2020

Webinar Series: Future is Made in Finland – Want to Be a Part of It?

Finland, one of the constant top countries in global rankings of innovation, education and happiness, is inviting you to join the party: to co-create the future – your own future as well as the future of our shared planet.
Northern lights above a forest, with some news story webinar ad text


Join us in exploring the future in seven amazing episodes illuminating the ways how the globe is changing and challenged, and how science in one of the world’s leading innovation ecosystems in Finland is taking us through the challenges – to the future.

To a better, safer and more sustainable future. Your future.

The webinar series consists of an opening episode Future is made in Finland – Want to Be a Part of It? presenting the study, research and work opportunities Finland has on offer, followed by six separate episodes highlighting Finnish cutting-edge excellence and opportunities in:

  • Circular economy
  • Imaging and photonics
  • 6G & mobile technologies
  • Artificial intelligence
  • Design-thinking
  • Perspectives of women in science and technology

 

Episode I: Future is Made in Finland – Want to be a Part of It?

14th of October 12.00 in Helsinki (UTC +3) / 14:30 in New Delhi (UTC +5:30) / 17:00 in Singapore (UTC +8)
Moderated by Mr. Tomi Korhonen, Executive Director of Communications, Business Finland

Program of Episode I

How to Find Global Solutions to Global Challenges in Finland?
12.00 EET / 14:30 IST / 17:00 SST

Finland - Made with Education
Ms. Li Andersson, Minister of Education of Finland

Future is Made in Finland
Mr. Pekka Sivonen, Executive Director, Digital Transformation of Finnish Industries

Mud-pies, make-believe and machine learning
Ms. Linda Liukas, Programmer, storyteller and illustrator, Founder of Rails Girls

Interested to Study & Research in Finland?
12.40 EET / 15:10 IST / 17:40 SST

Breaking the Ice with State-of-the-Art Science from Finland
Ms. Anita Lehikoinen, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Education and Culture

Virtual Tour to the Participating Universities
LUT University, Aalto University, Tampere University, University of Oulu

ABC to Study & Research in Finland

EURAXESS – Your Gateway to Research in Europe
Ms. Susanne Renzow-Vasu, EURAXESS Singapore   

ICMPD - Check-List for Students planning to Study within the EU – a free Resource Tool
Mr. Naoz
ad Hodiwala, ICMPD

How about Establishing a Start-up in Finland?
13.15 EET / 15:40 IST / 18:10 SST

Born and raised in HEL: The Story of SLUSH, the World’s Leading Start-up Event and Community
Rasmus Halme, Chief Operating Officer, SLUSH

Facts about Innovation & Start-up Funding in Finland
How to get to Finland?

 

And the saga continues: Further Episodes

  • 26 October at 12.00 EET / 15:30 IST / 18:00 SST
    Episode II: Bioeconomy Defines the Future / facilitated by the LUT University
  • 28 October at 12.00 EET / 15:30 IST / 18:00 SST
    Episode III: Join the Revolution of Light and Image / facilitated by the Tampere University
  • 3 November at 12.00 EET / 15:30 IST / 18:00 SST
    Episode IV: First in 6G / facilitated by the University of Oulu
     
  • 11 November at 12.00 EET / 15:30 IST / 18:00 SST
    Episode V: Get REAL, AI! / facilitated by the Finnish Center for Artificial Intelligence, FCAI
     
  • 17 November at 12.00 EET / 15:30 IST / 18:00 SST
    Episode VI: Future is Made in Finland – Design it yourself! / Aalto University
  • 9 December at 13:00 EET / 16:30 IST / 19:00 SST
    Episode VII: Future is Female – Discussions with Women in Science & Tech


More information and registration

See campaign site at www.studyinfinland.fi/future-is-made-in-finland
 

Participating universities / institutions


More information is coming soon, stay tuned!